General Discussion

View Only
  • 1.  Data sources and repeatable questions

Adopter
    Posted 02-27-2024 13:23

Probably a pretty basic question but I'm new to Truecontext.

I'm trying to create a form to be used annually in a facility while conducting inspections of 300+ devices. The device locations will remain static, with each device undergoing 15 individual tests.

An excel spreadsheet data source (simple single column of data) that has all the device locations already in sequential order when walking the facility. The "Emergency Lighting Device Location" question is a dropdown that references the data source.

Everything works as I would like except for one thing. When you select a device and complete the 15 required tests you have too again go through the dropdown to start the next task. With 300+ devices scrolling through the dropdown list is very cumbersome and easy to lose your place. I was hoping that it would just automatically move to the next entry in the data source.

I'm sure that Truecontext can do it I just seem to be stuck. Any help would be awesome.

Thanks, Mike

Form

------------------------------
    Mike Saunders
    Life Safety Coordinator
    Black and McDonald

• 2.  RE: Data sources and repeatable questions

Posted 02-27-2024 16:05

Hi Mike,

Thanks for asking your question! I have one to ask you in return:

Are the 15 questions the same for each asset that your field techs need to work on? If so, then you can use the Push Data to Repeatable Sections functionality, which will allow your users to either open a subform for each asset and move between them easily, or work in the repeatable sections summary table.

If the questions vary per asset, then it's a more complicated situation. I can't quite read the screenshot, unfortunately.

Hope this helps!

Erin Longhurst
    Product Manager
    TrueContext

• 3.  RE: Data sources and repeatable questions

Adopter
    Posted 02-27-2024 16:30

Hi Erin,