General Discussion

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Let's talk about DREL

• 1.  Let's talk about DREL

Posted 09-18-2023 11:29

Hi Everyone

I'm a Product Manager here at ProntoForms (soon to be TrueContext) and wanted to ask for some targeted feedback on one of our features: DREL.

I'm interested in any sort of feedback really, but here are some prompts to get you thinking:

1. How comfortable are you using DREL? 
    2. Is there data you wish you could get through DREL that you can't at the moment?
    3. Is there anything you find difficult to do using DREL?
    4. Are you using DREL in any non-obvious ways?
    5. Do you have any tips on using DREL?
    6. Do you try to use the same unique IDs in different forms so that the same DREL expression will work for multiple forms?

Looking forward to hearing from the community!

Here's one tip to get us started:

Say you have two fields in your form, but only 1 is ever populated at a time. You don't need any fancy logic on which one to show in your outputs because you can simply reference both and since one will be empty and the other populated, only one will show.

For example, my installation form takes either an asset number or a serial number. If I want this number in the filename I can simply do:

and since the empty field doesn't return anything, not even a space, you will get a nice consistent filename without any obvious gaps of missing data (as long as you don't put a space between the two answers).

This works especially well for our Custom Excel Document if you need 1 of a set of mutually exclusive values, but in the same cell:

------------------------------
    Natalie Tallon
    Product Manager
    ProntoForms
    ntallon@prontoforms.com

• 2.  RE: Let's talk about DREL

Adopter
    Posted 09-19-2023 09:54

Hi Natalie,

I use DREL quite a bit in Excel docs and in document names, data destinations, etc.